img { height: auto; max-width: 100%; }

Ellen Craine

Counseling, Consulting and Training

Navigation Assistance Through Your Social Work Ethical Dilemmas

Grief, Loss, and Healing



Workshop Description

Loss is inevitable. In life, we lose loved ones, relationships, opportunities, independence, cognitive functioning, and physical abilities. Grief is the common process we experience as a result of our loss. The grieving process is different for each person–– there is no “normal” time frame for healing. Additionally, our healing is impacted by a our emotional constitution, culture, socioeconomic status, spiritual beliefs, and overall well-being.

This workshop will explore the commonly accepted five stages of grief that people are most familiar with––denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance––and the myriad of other emotions, such as shock, disbelief, and becoming stuck, that can be part of the grieving process. Participants will walk away with a toolbox that fits who and where they are in their life long journey through grief.

(For professionals: This workshop will focus on current treatment modalities, practical case studies, and the presentation of skills and techniques to equip providers with the tools necessary to aid their clients with processing, understanding, effectively coping with, healing through, and accepting their grief experience.)